Latest News & Events

Latest News & Events

Landlords of commercial property beware

I am a lawyer with some 30 years plus experience in dealing with commercial property. 

The purpose of this article is to warn landlords of a recent development that I have noticed in relation to commercial leases.  Often landlords tell me that their letting agent has drawn up a commercial lease and the landlord has been told that he does not need a solicitor to act for them on the grant of that lease.  This seems to be a trend which has increased in recent years.  While it is often common for landlords on residential property to use the form of tenancy that is proposed by their letting agent a commercial lease is a completely different proposition. 

Let me say at the outset that agents are not legally qualified to draw up a lease and it is something similar to when one approaches a non qualified person to draw up a Will.  Yes they may get it right but more often than not they don't and essential clauses that are there to protect the landlord or should be there to protect the landlord are often not included or are included but poorly drafted so that the landlord is prejudiced.